Testimonials

When everything goes right it makes for a good story; but when things go wrong and you need a hero, and that makes for a great story. Well, Hemphill's are my heroes!! Having hired another contractor to rehab and make my pond bigger, after 6 weeks, (3 of which my 55 fish were living in totes in 90° weather), my pond wasn't even level, you could see wrinkled liner everywhere, looked like an oval swimming pool, runoff from rain going in pond, nonchalantly destroyed existing landscaping and lawn, it was very apparant they didn't know what they were doing and I let them go. Having gone to Hemphill's for all the materials, and Betty and Matt patiently answering my many, many, questions, I just loved the customer service and care they give their customers. That's when I pleeded with them to come in and save the day. It was going to take an actual miracle for my vision to come to light at this point. Had I hired Hemphill's in the first place, it would of only taken 3 days to do the entire job start to finish! Matt and his team were able to disassemble part of the pond and rebuild having NO liner showing, use rocks to create a more pondlike shape, rebuilt the waterfall, built retaining walls so no runoff, put stepping stones around the pond, and put down topsoil so I could get on my way to rebuilding my lawn. After the nightmare I endured, I am over the moon happy with the end result and what Matt and his team were able to accomplish in only 2 days. Whereas, Hemphill's sells anything you may need, they aren't pushy or over bearing like many places. I have since been back twice already to get more fish, plants, netting, chemical that clears water, and a waterfall light. Their knowledge, work ethic, showmanship, and customer service are like non other. This is a family owned business, and they really do make you feel like part of the family. But for me, they are my heroes!!!!

Cheryl H., August 2020

Betty and Matt have been wonderful from start to finish with the installation of our pond to helping resolve issue that arise! I highly recommend them for your pond needs!

Clare P., August 2020

Hemphill's rebuilt my ponds and they are magnificent! I had a picture in mind as to what I wanted - Matt and his crew listened, then worked hard to construct what I imagined. I couldn't be more pleased. I highly recommend them.

Gary A., August 2020

I wish I could give this business 10 stars. Mrs. Hemphill was so kind and informative about rebuilding our pond. The team showed up on the hottest day of the year and worked like a finely oiled machine. They rebuilt our waterfall and it is magnificent! Basically rebuilt the entire pond. We are extremely happy with the price and quality of their work. Highly recommend!

Ria B., July 2020

I love this garden shop. I traveled a good distance, because I was looking for a specific water plant. I was greeted by the owner and her son. They were very friendly and helpful. I was given care instructions for the plant and it was an all around pleasant experience. Great customer service. Thank you!

Angie, July 2020

We love Hemphill's. We bought our prefabricated pond from them. They talked us through how to install it ourselves and told us to call if we had any questions. We've since then bought several trees, plants, water plants and beautiful hanging baskets. The staff was very helpful in all areas. Can't wait to go back to order our stone for our next project...a patio!!!

Cathy R., July 2020

What a pleasure to find a company that does the work they promised. Their employees Matt, Abel and Daniel made me feel like their most important customer and are very polite and hard working. They aim to please which is a rarity in this day and age. If you want a company willing to step out of the box with a project and bring your vision to life, Hemphills is the company you should hire. I am giving them 5 stars. (Liz M.)

Liz M., June 2020

We had our two ponds cleaned by Hemphill's today and I would be remiss if I did not write a wonderful review on our experience with them. They did an excellent job, the gentlemen who did the work arrived on time and worked diligently and were very respectful. BTW, our ponds had not been professionally cleaned for several years and they were quite a mess, to say the least. Mrs. Hemphill has always been great to work with. Do not hesitate to contact them.

Carol B., June 2020

I absolutely love this place. I great escape from the city. Just a pleasure to visit. Great products! We go for the water plants and fish for our little city pond in the backyard

Jacob D., June 2020

Each and every time go to hemphills they are very helpful, knowledgeable, informative and accommodating to my needs. They helped me choose appropriate flower and plant products based on my projects and taught me about what needs what when. They are the only store with good operating hours during winter project months as well.their prices are the usual and customary. I will be shopping here regularly.

anonymous, March 2020

Fantastic experience. I ordered a cord of wood on Monday and it was delivered on Wednesday. Driver was courteous and asked the location before dumping. The wood was of a high quality and dry. Great prices and I plan to use them again in the future. They deliver within 20 miles of the store for free!

Dustin, December 2019

Beautiful plants and great people

Susan M., July 2019

Amazing customer service, she was very knowledgeable when it came to our pond needs. I recommend this place to anyone needing pond items.

Robert H., Sept 2018

We love this place. We bought all of our pond plants here, and our 2 catfish for our pond. We've also bought other plants here.

Robin C., July 2018

Friendly! Smart! Nice selection!

Glenda M., July 2018

Great family owned business, great prices and very helpful. Staff loaded an awkward size purchase into our car, and were very courteous. Worth the trip, will go back.

Todd H., January 2018

Always love Hemphills, very nice family business :) Very nice quality plants ! Beautiful Christmas Trees

Cindy K., January 2018

Hemphills has been cleaning my pond for several years now. It’s no easy task as it has two waterfalls A stream bed and a 1500 gallon Pond At the bottom.This year I had to leave early before they finished the job. Not only did they do an excellent job of cleaning and reinstalling the pumps but they also took the time to put back the monofilament I string across the pond to keep the Blue-heron out. I had expected to have to do that since I hadn’t asked them to replace it.That is above and beyond, that is 120%; great job!

Rodger K., June 2018

I stopped by Hemphill's to purchase a net for my fish pond and while there my daughter and I were talking to Betty and her son. I started telling them about issues I was having with the pond. They offered to come out and take a look. I was amazed at the service that I received. My pond was drained, cleaned, patched, lava rocks replaced and had a new pump put in. I can't say enough about them and the service that I received. Above all, very reasonably priced. I love this place and all they have to offer. I will definitely return to Hemphill's for all future pond needs. Thanks so much for your wonderful service. My fish are very happy and so am I!

Kim M., January 2017

I was looking for a good pond contractor to help develop options for renovating my pond that I built in 2006 as my fish and turtles had outgrown the current environment. After great deal of on line researched I narrowed down to four companies that I spoke with and untimely decided on Hemphill. I felt that they were very responsive, price was in line with others, and they provided me three options. I decided on a combination of the three options. They came in and completed the project on schedule, the final outcome was great. My 30 Kio and 10 turtles are happy in their expanded home. I would highly recommend Hemphill for their; quality of work, customer service, and industry knowledge.

Todd M., November 2016

Betty was so wonderful to work with. We ordered firewood & it was delivered on time (early actually) & is good quality wood. I was hesitant to order with them because of the negative reviews but it was a very pleasant experience. We will definitely order wood from them next year!

Sharon F., November 2016

We had our pond redone today and it looks great . The men that game to do the pond were very friendly and efficient,and certainly wanted to please us. And we were very happy with the finished job. Also purchased a few pond flowers and they are beautiful in the pond.

Michele E., May 2016

I drove over an hour to visit Hemphill's because I needed to see in person the business that I had found over the Internet and had decided could help me solve the pond problems I had become desperate to solve. The minute I turned into their parking area, I knew this was exactly the type of business for which I had been searching. When Betty Hemphill walked up to my car thinking that I was lost and concerned that I needed help, she won me over....walking into the store and meeting the family dogs confirmed my decision. Shortly after, they visited my home and we discussed the problems and possible solutions. In a short period of time, they corrected issues created by a previous company (improper installation of a waterfall box and inadequate filtering media) and I saw improvements within a month. I have called several times since and they have provided advise and support. I will share that my husband and I researched, designed and hand dug our 22 x 11 foot pond ourselves over 20 years ago and built the previous biological filter. In its time, it was a great system but the newer pressure filter with UV is far superior! Thanks Hemphills!!!

Deb F., July 2016

Look guys, it's Easter Sunday and they were open. This is, simply put, a Mom and Pop business who were as cute as they could be. We decided today (well, like an hour beforehand) that we wanted a fountain for our little pond. We know nothing about ponds. Told them so over the phone. They said if we were willing to drive over, they'll teach us some things. Who does that anymore? They had a selection that blew the place in Cockeysville away and at better prices. Sure, she said wait a minute whenever somebody pulled up to buy an Easter plant, but that's why they opened today and she told me so. They are old school, but honest and it all got done. We now have people stopping already to look at our fountain. If you need crap and stupid people, go to the big box stores. If you can spare a few minutes and have a personable experience go here. Life's a journey, relax.

Mel S., April 2015